April 2 — DAY NINE

Reflections on a Week Abroad

At dinner the night before we left Prague, I pulled the rug out from under myself.  I was at a table half full of seniors and half full underclassmen, discussing our first game and how Julia Carr had turned to all of us rookies and asked: “Have you guys ever tackled before?” No, we hadn’t.  Then I said:

“Next time we go to Cornell…”

Pause.

“Wait.  I’m never going to Cornell again.”

Then I started laughing and crying at the same time.

This tour was like my time on this team: full of great moments, like playing as one against the Czech national team, but also full of grueling experiences like taking an overnight bus from Prague to Zurich followed by a flight back to Boston from the overly expensive Zurich airport, just to cap that off with a bus ride back to Providence.  But I am truly blessed to have joined this team of strong, talented, hilarious women my freshman year, and to have played my last 15s game an ocean away from where I started with a radically different group of incredible athletes.

2016-04-01 11.00.53

Tour showed me that we are leaving the bold, beautiful, beasts in capable hands.  I have gotten to know so many of my teammates better than before, and I watched them all meet the challenge of playing against women with years more experience than them.  I also got to explore new places, try new foods, and laugh at ridiculousness with not only them, but other players I’ve known over my four years.

A few nights ago I was bending my back at weird angles on an uncomfortable bus and trying to sleep with Justin Bieber playing softly from the overhead speaker.  Too soon after that I was struggling to deal with the non-stop turbulence of a transatlantic flight.  Then the customs guy asked me if I got sucker punched (yeah, sure.  you should see the other girl…).  It was all worth it to experience Europe with this team.  Because I love this team.

2016-04-02 07.46.12

We still have a month of sevens to work toward, but I feel like this tour was the capstone of my Brown Women’s Rugby experience, and I couldn’t be more grateful.

We are all exhausted from our more than 24 hours of straight travel, but it was definitely worth it.  And shout out to the saferide supervisor who saw a group of us struggling with our bags and offered to give us a ride from the OMAC.

Monica ‘16

Leave a Reply

